Speaker Approves 5-Member Committee To Probe Bribery Claims

The Speaker of Parliament, Professor Mike Oquaye, has approved the setting up of a five-member in-house committee, to investigate the corruption allegations leveled against some leaders of the House, prior to the approval of the the Energy Minister, Boakye Agyarko.

Mr. Agyarko was accused of attempting to bribe 10 Minority members on the Parliament’s Appointments Committee, with GHc 3,000 each, to get his nomination approved after his vetting.

The Committee has thirty days within which to present its report. It is to be chaired by Former Attorney-General and MP for Essikado-Ketan, Joe Ghartey. The four other members are MPs Ben Abdallah, Ama Pomaah Boateng, Magnus Kofi Amoateng and Hon. B. T. Baba.

Join GhanaStar.com to receive daily email alerts of breaking news in Ghana. GhanaStar.com is your source for all Ghana News. Get the latest Ghana news, breaking news, sports, politics, entertainment and more about Ghana, Africa and beyond.