“We Cannot Fail, We Must Not Fail” – Akufo-Addo Cautions New Ministers

President Akufo-Addo has charged newly sworn in ministers not to fail on the mandate bestowed upon them by the people of Ghana indicating that “we cannot fail, we must not fail”.

The president said this after swearing in twelve (12) out of the thirteen ministers who were vetted and approved by parliament.

Addressing the ministers, Nana Addo said “we are required to fulfill the requirements of our mandates and I’m certain with God’s guidance, the sincerity of purpose, the integrity of character and hard work, we shall deliver and honour this country…”

The President further said “the issue of corruption in public life was a major topic in the 2016 election. The Ghanaian people want an honest government, a government that would protect the public purse and ensure value for money in all public transactions.

“We cannot fail, we cannot fail.”

The president further indicated that the NPP’s manifesto clearly outlines how they intend to be accountable to the people and called on the ministers and all members of government to be guided by the code of conduct and principles of accountability spelt out in their manifesto.

The last minister, Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey who is Minister for Foreign Affairs would be sworn-in in Addis Ababa by the President at Ghana’s embassy in Ethiopia.

The rest of the ministerial nominees would be vetted by parliament from Monday January 30, 2017 as the Akufo Addo government takes shape.

Sign up for GhanaStar.com to receive daily email alerts of breaking news in Ghana. GhanaStar.com is your source for all Ghana News. Get the latest Ghana news, breaking news, sports, politics, entertainment and more about Ghana, Africa and beyond.